Which lens do you recommend to start wildlife photography / Sony a6000

sasdian

Hi

I'm no expert, but here are a couple of thoughts that I have on the choice.

If I was considering upgrading my camera at some time in the future - maybe to full frame? The Sigma would still be compatible 

The Sony extends when zooming - some photographers find this annoying as it moves the balance point of your set up whenever you change focal length.

The Sigma has more elements on the shutter which means the out of focus parts of your photos should look smoother (called Bokeh) for some photographers this is a nice effect.

I never find myself wishing for less "reach" but often wish I had more! - when trying to get pics of animals and birds in the distance. The Sigma will give you this.

However, the Sony is lighter!

2 hours ago, thebeardedgroundsman said:

Hi

I'm no expert, but here are a couple of thoughts that I have on the choice.

If I was considering upgrading my camera at some time in the future - maybe to full frame? The Sigma would still be compatible 

The Sony extends when zooming - some photographers find this annoying as it moves the balance point of your set up whenever you change focal length.

The Sigma has more elements on the shutter which means the out of focus parts of your photos should look smoother (called Bokeh) for some photographers this is a nice effect.

I never find myself wishing for less "reach" but often wish I had more! - when trying to get pics of animals and birds in the distance. The Sigma will give you this.

However, the Sony is lighter!