Hey Guys, i have Some questions.

So im not a expert and need Some advice, i have the Sony A7 camera and want a 35mm 1.8 lens, but there are so Many options and i dont know what to pick. I want a budget model if possible, ive seen this one but Some say it wont work well on the a7, why is this?

https://www.foka.nl/product/12173006/sony-sal-35mm-f-1-8-sal35f18-ae-?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIu8LL67fp2gIVEBQbCh3XNQkuEAQYASABEgJETvD_BwE

Thanks!

So im not a expert and need Some advice, i have the Sony A7 camera and want a 35mm 1.8 lens, but there are so Many options and i dont know what to pick. I want a budget model if possible, ive seen this one but Some say it wont work well on the a7, why is this?

https://www.foka.nl/product/12173006/sony-sal-35mm-f-1-8-sal35f18-ae-?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIu8LL67fp2gIVEBQbCh3XNQkuEAQYASABEgJETvD_BwE

Thanks!

That's because the Sony A7 cameras have an E-Mount, whereas the linked lens is for an A-Mount. For your proposed lens, you would need an adapter, which may degrade performance, image quality, compatibility or all of those. Besides, having to buy an additional adapter would somehow defeat the desired budget solution.

For a start, you may want to checkout the following lens database. It has both rankings based on uniform tests performed, as well as prices at launch time of each lens.

Be sure to choose "FE-Mount" (full frame E-Mount) as the mount type.

Guest Jaf-Photo

The A7 is a budget camera but there aren't too many budget lenses to go with it.

If you are prepared to use manual focus only, you can use third party lenses or adapted vintage lenses to save money.

But if you're looking to buy a selection of budget lenses, it could be worth considering a second camera. For instance, you can buy a Sony A-Mount camera and lenses to go with it for very little money. Or you could consider the smaller sensor NEX or A6000 cameras.

Thanks!