focus magnifier assign button

hello and thank you for existing 

I am no ordinary newbie , I am a very old newbie :(

got a a6000 for a while and for the life of me I could not use adapted lenses , the trouble being the button for magnifier 

got a very cheap ex-display A7II and the same 

on both I d like to reassign magnifier to any of the buttons at the back of the camera 

help please and many thanks in advance 

Welcome, very old newbie! 🙂

You have the same two old Sony clunkers as myself - since my shooting style is mostly still images, there is no need for a bleeding edge technological wonders.

Open the second tab (gear symbol) in the Menu and go to Page 6.  Select Custom Key Settings and assign the function that you want to the Custom Button 1 and 2 on A6000 and on the A7II, Custom Button 1-4.

On my A7II, I have set C1 to SteadyShot Focal Length, C2 to Focus Magnifier and C3 to Focus Mode.  If you shoot with a lot of manual focus legacy lenses, you need to let the camera know the lens' focal length so the camera can compensate for your movements by deploying the SteadyShot.  Assigning Focus Magnifier to CB2 makes sense because these two functions are absolute must for legacy lens shooting.

A6000 doesn't have IBIS (SteadyShot) so the option of setting SteadyShot Focal Length do not exist so I assigned the Focus Magnifier to C1 and Focus Mode to C2. 

Hope this helps.

Edit: If you haven't done so already you need to enable the cameras to release shutter without lens in order to shoot with manual focus legacy lenses.  Same Tab, page 3 for A6000 and page 4 for A7II.

Edited by tadwil
more information

thank you most kindly ; Pieter says that the camera must be set to manual focus mode , mine after I enabled shoot without lens , seems to be always in manual focus mode ; I m almost convinced that I did something wrong or was it just pure luck ?