Images not as sharp as I'd expect them to be?

Hey guys, recently I upgraded from my Nikon D3200 to the A6500. On the nikon I often shot with a 200 dollar 50mm prime 1.8, and honestly that camera and that lens somehow produced some of the sharpest images I've ever seen. 

Well this week I got my A6500 in, and the glass I chose is the Zeiss 55mm 1.8 Sonnar lens. By all accounts, this camera + lens combo should produce incredibly sharp pictures, however they seem soft to me. Definitely not even close to the level of sharpness that I get from my Nikon and cheapo prime lens.

Would you guys be willing to help me out to figure out if it's the lens (or camera), or me that's producing the soft images? I would greatly appreciate any help that you guys give me.

A little background on me since it might help you guys help me. I'm no pro, I do this as "a serious hobby." I do sometimes get paid by people to take photos, but it's not a vocation. I've been seriously into photography for the last few years, but I started back in 2007. I am still learning every day, but I'm not at "newbie" level I don't think.

Thanks guys and gals!

I feel like I need to make a quick update to this:

I took a snapshot of some text on a piece of paper. I made the same image with the nikon and the sony. The sony is obviously sharper than the nikon when taking pictures like that...

Yet when I take portraits of people, the nikon seems much sharper in that situation. This makes me think there's something I'm doing making portrait style photos not as sharp as they could be.

Any help?

Guest Jaf-Photo

Sounds like a focusing issue. For instance, if you're focusing on the tip of the nose, the rest of the face will be out of focus. Either you can use the flexible spot to focus on the nearest eye, or you can read the manual on how to set up eye focus.

If you're using face recognition focus, you'll need to stop down the aperture because you'll often get front or back focus with it.