Minolta MD/MC lens and what Sony Alpha work best

bobmax48

I have a bunch of Minolta MD/MC lens purchased before 1984.  Also I have a few Nikon DX lens.  I am wanting to buy a Sony Alpha camera but want to know if these lens will work.  Mostly I shoot landscapes and closeup of textures.  Being a video editor I probably will want to use the camera for video too.  Do the Minolta lens work in full frame?  Which of the Alpha 7 series cameras would be best with the lens?

I have a bunch of Minolta MD/MC lens purchased before 1984.  Also I have a few Nikon DX lens.  I am wanting to buy a Sony Alpha camera but want to know if these lens will work.  Mostly I shoot landscapes and closeup of textures.  Being a video editor I probably will want to use the camera for video too.  Do the Minolta lens work in full frame?  Which of the Alpha 7 series cameras would be best with the lens?

Could you give us a list of your lenses? Then it would be easier to give an recommendation.

It would also be helpful to know if you want to use it for video primarily and how important resolution is for you.

For information about several Minolta lenses check out this article: Manual Minolta LENS RATINGS

For information about adaption lenses check out this article: MANUAL LENSES ON THE SONY A7 – A BEGINNERS GUIDE

The MD lenses will work.  I've used them on a NEX7 and and A7r with 'suitable results'.  Some of the MD lenses are great values in the Imatest/cost ratio.  The 50 1.7 as an example.  I had the 50 1.2 - it was fuzzy and never got really great.  The 1.4 was ok. I had the MC 28mm 2.5 and kept it just for the way it treated flare in many situations. 

In most situations they stayed on the shelf and never got taken out.  New lenses are much better these days.