[Advice needed from fellow A7sii users] Sensor noise at maximum ISO

Moebius

Hi all,

Forum noob here. I have a pressing concern with my recently-purchased A7sii and am hoping that fellow users will be able to shed some light on it.

Essentially, my issue relates to the magenta sensor noise that occurs at ultra high ISOs. This was a known problem with the A7s. In some reviews I've read, however, some notable reviewers such as Philip Bloom have averred that their A7sii units no longer have this problem.

Here are some samples from my unit: http://1drv.ms/1MVTfuq and http://1drv.ms/1MVTo0J. Can I trouble someone to confirm that this level of sensor noise is typical of the A7sii at maximum ISO? I've sent my unit in for evaluation, and the Sony service staff have insisted that this is normal across all units, but my tests with some demo units seem to suggest otherwise, I.e. The magenta noise seems much less pronounced.

Any insights or help would be much appreciated!

Guest Peter Kelly

I suspect that this is an individual camera issue, rather than of a certain model, and it has the same cause (or causes).

I understand that a good proportion of it is down to light leakage, which would be understandable because any light at very high ISO will show up and be magnified.

Some A7S users advocated simple black tape around the mount to block it off, which apparently worked in some cases!

Of course, the other two possible causes would be first a 'faulty' sensor, in that there may be sensor to sensor variation, but if it's within specification then there would be no solution and, second, heat from another part of the camera.

Heat would certainly increase any noise issues, which is why astrophotography tries its best to keep a sensor cool.

Personally I think the light leakage is the most probable cause and if it is really important to you then the best option is to swap the camera, assuming you still have the option.