Need help/advice..

I’m a real estate photographer and shoot with Sony a7riii, I use a Nikon SB-700 to bounce light off the ceiling and shoot aperture priority with the drive mode BRK-S (I don’t shoot continuously so the flash capacitor can charge between shots) and merge the photos into an HDR image. 

It works OK (i know everyone is shooting Flambient now) though the flash doesn’t always communicate with the camera properly (it’ll go into standby mode after a few seconds not being used, get stuck on a setting and need to get shut down/disconnected to change, etc), so I bought a Sony brand flash (no model name/number on the front but I believe it is HVL-F45RM) in the hopes it might communicate with the camera better as well as maybe set it up wireless so I could try shooting Flambient instead of HDR. I tried it a few times and it was causing all sorts of random changes to the way the camera operated that I couldn’t seem to correct in the menu. I decided to just continue using the Nikon flash and set the Sony flash aside. 

I had an accident on Friday where my tripod was knocked over and smashed the flash so I had to use the Sony flash instead, it was doing a few things that almost caused me to not be able to get usable images from the shoot, but I managed to figure a few things out and get by. 

Here are the things it was doing that I need help with, I have tried googling all of this to no avail:

-when in Manual, with the drive mode set to BRK-S, it changes the f/stop instead of the shutter speed, something I never saw on my Nikon cameras and have never seen on this one, and I can’t seem to find anything that would change it on the menu

-when in aperture priority, it sets to 1/60 for the shutter and doesn’t adjust for the in camera metering, which flashes to indicate the settings won’t expose the image properly. When I set to BRK-S, same thing, it just remains at 1/60 with the meter indicator flashing 

- auto-white balance comes off with a terrible yellow cast.