Cannot get sharp images

OffBlue

Sorry i'm completely new to photography so patience is appreciated. I keep looking up recommended settings for indoor portrait photography with my a6000 and cannot for the life of me get the highest quality portraits.

I'm currently using a sigma 60mm art lens. My setup is in my basement with the only lighting coming from a softbox with an umbrella light diffuser, The light is about a foot from me and the camera is about 4 and a half feet or so from me.  I'm at 1/60-1/80 shutter, 200 iso, f.28, in memory recall mode. I'm not sure if the camera just isn't focusing in enough time while i have the 10 second timer running or something. Whenever i just pick up and shoot an object I can get a great picture but my portraits are not nearly sharp enough. I see sample images people have taken using this lens and it's frustrating i can't come close. I am shooting in RAW as well.

Sorry for the long winded post!

You might want to try cleaning your lens.  I had the same issue with my a6000.  I also have an a7Rii and an a7iii.  But I did not have this issue with them.  Also try changing modes as your camera will differently each time.  It should still achieve focus...just in a different way.  But I had a small piece of dust on my lens.  It was trying to focus on that...just an idea.

I surmise that you are using the camera on a tripod? I'm not familiar with the lens, does it have Steady shot? - if so you want to turn it off, when mounted on a tripod.

As you are taking your time to make the shot, and the distance from camera to subject is "fixed" - it might be worth using manual focus.