Flash idiot seeks advice!

So... On an off-camera-flash literacy scale of 0 to 10, I am hovering at about a 3. But I'm really, really trying, and am doing a wedding in two weeks. I want to be well prepared and have been pushing myself hard. I have an A7rii with two Nissin di700a's with the commander. I have a softbox with a bracket to hold the flash, and just bought a 43" shoot-through umbrella. I noticed that when I put my flash into the softbox it was wobbly but stayed in ok, and I've been using it this way for a couple of months. Today I was ordering the umbrella and was looking at adjustable umbrella mounts when I had this huge flash (yeah...) of insight. Oh!! Maybe the setup is wobbly because of this annoyingly different Sony shoe! Maybe the cold shoe on the stand is for my Canon!!

Guest Peter Kelly

The Sony foot will fit inside a standard cold shoe and there are a number of brackets that have a shoe and umbrella holder in one (Hama and Phottix amongst others). I doubt it would cause any damage to the flash, but whether it's worthwhile depends a great deal upon what you are going to use the flashes for.

If you just want some controlled light for the more personal portraits, or to give nice effects for the first dance, then that set up should be no problem. However, you are asking an awful lot of the flashes to provide fill for large groups shots in full sun through umbrellas. Add to that the time to set up and the possible issues if there is anything other than the most gentle of breezes and I would advise not to attempt it.

To be honest, if you are working alone then by all means mount the flashes on some stands for the personals, maybe with some mini bounce attachments, as that would be easy to set up and move around. I'd forget the umbrellas unless you have a specific look in mind, because all they will do is waste power. The shape and nature of the catchlights simply won't be an issue.