Looking for advice on telephoto lenses for a7 iv:

I am going to have an opportunity to catch some unique wildlife, much of which will be at a considerable distance. I'm not a professional, but I do a lot of nature photography with my a7 iv. I currently have a Tamron 70-300 telephoto lens which I like a lot. I mostly will not be using a tripod, but there are times where I will have one, so I'm trying to decide: do I
1) get something that covers 300-600, and assume I will only use that lens when using a tripod, or
2) get a 50-400 Tamron like https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1719896-REG/tamron_a067_50_400mm_f_4_5_6_3_di_iii.html and not have to switch lenses and give up on the higher mm.
     The question is, are the >400 ranges useful or will be too blurry even with tripod (given animal movement, wind, etc.), and are there any down-sides to that 50-400 lens. It seems kind of too good to be true, covering that wide range - what are we giving up? There are much more expensive lenses covering a much narrower range. Any issues here that I'm missing?

Related issue: something like the 60-600mm https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1741153-REG/sigma_60_600mm_f_4_5_6_3_dg_dn.html , what are the downsides there? Weight, size, and cost, but otherwise - at the lower ranges, is it fine without a tripod or does this thing require a tripod no matter what mm I'm shooting at?  Will it be just as good at say 100mm as my current lens, or are there tradeoffs that mean that it's not good as an all-in-one?

• 2 weeks later...

Hello melevin77. 

I too own the A7 iv and I bought the Sony FE 200 - 600mm G lens.  I absolutely love this lens.  There are a lot of videos on YouTube about the lens and the settings the user used to capture wildlife and birds in flight even.  I've also used this lens with no tripod and I've never had a blur.  So just throwing out another lens option for you to consider.  Good luck!  

EDIT: This lens has Optical Image Stabilization in it too.