3 lenses to buy

oneand0

Hi! I'm new here and would like some advice on my switch over from Canon. Currently I own a Sony A7RII, with a backup Canon7DII, with variety of EF lenses and metabones adapter. I am a hobbyist landscape photographer and very comfortable with my Rokinon 14mm and Zeiss 21mm manually for landscape with my new Sony.

Next week I am going to rent and compare the A6000 & FE 70-200mm, to my 7D MKii and 100-400mm, in speed and auto focus. If it matches performance, I'm dumping my backup Canon and all five canon lenses.

This is where it gets tricky! I really am going to step out of my comfort zone of landscape photography, and I'm getting into pet photography/videography incorporating some landscapes. I need something that will focus almost flawlessly with my A7R II and A6000 (or A6000X) for catching those pets. So I have decided to get three lenses to work with pet photographs and video.
1. Sony 35mm FE 2.8 (crop mode becomes 52mm)
2. Sony 55mm FE 1.8 (crop mode becomes 82mm)
3. Sony 70-200mm F/4

Based on your experience with these lenses, or other Sony FE lenses, is there something else I should go with? I'm really going to miss the coverage of my old 24-105mm Canon, which was a true workhorse and just sharp enough. I already own video fluid heads, tripod, fluid monopod, Glidecam and other equipment from being in video prior to landscape, so that is not an issue.

Thank you for any input.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/1and0hound/

I think you have a good range there in lens. Everyone's shooting style is different and you'll soon find if there is a further need. I'm making the switch too from canon and have made similar lens choices. I've added the 90mm macro to my collection and am waiting to see what happens with the A6000 to see if it gets an update. We should know in a month or two

Enjoy the new adventure

The new Sony macro FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS is a nice addition. Super sharp and makes lovely portraits.