Sony RX1r II and Suitability as a Street Photography Camera

Guest Colin Scott Johnson

I'm a street photographer first and foremost, mostly in San Francisco where I live.

For the way I shoot street I need the following from a camera:

MUST

Small size

Light weight

Can be shot one-handed on the move

Silent shutter (prefer leaf over electronic)

As close to zero shutter lag as possible

28mm F2.8 or faster lens

SHOULD

Aperture ring on lens

Hyperlocal markings on lens

35mm F2.8 or faster lens

COULD

21mm F2.8 or faster lens

I've owned film and digital Leica's (M3, M7, M240 and M Monochrom) and actually would never recommend a Leica for street photography.

They are too big and heavy and the ISO performance and shutter lag is sub-par with most modern cameras.

They are also to expensive and require maintenance that ain't cheap.

I've owned the following Fuji's:

X-Pro1, XE-2, X-T1, X100s.

For Sony's I've owned or currently own:

A7s - near perfect with the 35mm F2.8. Silent mode never caused distortion. lighter weight is beneficial for street.

A7 II - useless due to shutter noise and it's too heavy

A7r II - useless due to shutter noise or distortion if using silent mode. Also too heavy.

A6000 - useless due to shutter lag

A6300 - useless due to shutter noise or distortion if using silent mode. Lack of quality wide lenses. Loxia 21mm is too heavy for it.

Today I tried a Sony RX1r II, hoping it may have the secret sauce.

Weight and size were good.

Leaf shutter was silent.

It was difficult to hold one handed, even with a tight strap.

Unfortunately focusing is the major problem with it.

Sony stupidly moves ALL the lens elements to focus.

It's slow and noisy.

Shooting one-handed @ F8 1/500s resulted in no images in focus.

I suspect that the AF is not fast enough and the 42MP is probably too demanding a sensor.

It's actually too much for street work IMHO.

I tried both C and S modes.