Cancelling viewfinder review image

Hello

I am new to Sony mirrorless (after 30years as a Nikon SLR/DSLR user) and am finding one specific function rather irritating.

Honestly it’s just one...so I am reasonably accepting of new methods to be learned. 

I am not sure if there is a setting I can change but if there is .....please can someone help?

I don’t normally chimp.  I have got the auto review switched off on the Sony already!
But while testing out my new A7 iii with a suite of new lenses I am obviously playing back the captured images more frequently to evaluate the exposure etc.

The problem is.......

When I lift the camera up to the eye to restart shooting after being in playback mode, whilst the rear screen goes off (from the eye detect function) there is still a preview of the last reviewed image in the viewfinder .....the camera is still in playback mode, unless I first touch the shutter button.

Is there a way of getting the eye detect to cancel the playback mode or a menu setting for the playback to auto switch off after a time period........like the auto review  ?

I appreciate retouching the shutter was also necessary on DSLR cameras but the difference is.... I could still track the subject and compose the shot before needing to touch the shutter.... as the viewfinder was always live.  I never touched the shutter immediately after finishing playback,  for fear of shooting a picture of my feet! I always raised the camera to the eye first.

This delay is particularly annoying when photographing action shots or in this instance, birds in flight.
I take a shot ....look at the rear screen..... go back to the viewfinder and I see a photo of where the bird WAS not where it now is. I have to clear the screen with my index finger and go hunt the bird and reframe again. It’s amazing how much this slows up the process.