Move from Canon to Sony

I have been a keen photographer all my life and have shot many different genres over the years. I live in Wales so have great scenery and wildlife to photograph. I also have my own studio.

I had used Canon cameras for 44 years but after trying the R6 and being very disappointed, I decided to try a Sony A7 IV. I used it for a week with an adapter and my Sigma Art lenses and decided that this was the camera for me. I gathered up my 2 5D Mk IVs, 8 lenses and various other Canon kit and part exchanged the lot for a second A7IV and a range of lenses. I now have a comprehensive kit and am delighted with the performance, ease of use and light weight of my new outfit. I had heard that Sony menus were hard to follow, well, I have seen better but overall, they are fine. Once the camera is customised to suit your own style you hardly ever use them. 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Welcome to the FORUM.  From what little I've read, it seems there are more Sony (and Nikon) users that migrate to Canon than the other way around.  But Sony was the only company that had a camera with the features important to me -- and I find the camera design (hardware and software) to be perfect for me.

Happy shooting

10 hours ago, XKAES said:

Welcome to the FORUM.  From what little I've read, it seems there are more Sony (and Nikon) users that migrate to Canon than the other way around.  But Sony was the only company that had a camera with the features important to me -- and I find the camera design (hardware and software) to be perfect for me.

Happy shooting

I'm curious how you reached that conclusion.