Need suggestions for 50mm and above

Portrait Painter X

I'm totally new to legacy lenses. I'm looking for a reasonably priced prime that I'm primarily going to use for photographing oil paintings. So it needs to be sharp and have minimal distortion. It needs to be at least 50mm, but a longer lens, 85mm and above, would be welcome as I then can use it as a portrait lens.

I have a Sony A7II. Thanks in advance.

I have two suggestions for you:

1) Pentax M 50/4 Macro (up to 1:2): super sharp, great colors and dirty cheap

2) Contax 60/2.8 Macro S-Planar (up to 1:1 magnification) or C-Planar (up to 1:2). The C-Planar is much smaller, but the optics are exactly the same, what changes is only the size of the helicoid, so the "body" of the lens. The Contax is an extremely sharp lens (even though, to be fair, I don't think the Pentax is that far behind if at all, at least in macro use). Probably around 350 / 450 plus 10€ for a suitable adapter.

I'm suggesting macro lenses because they are usually extremely well corrected in terms of distortion, and super sharp.

I recommend the Nikon 105mm micro Nikkor. I have the f4 version. It cost me £60 and is outstanding optically. At 50mm my Zeiss Planar 'T' f1.7 gives awesome sharpness, but so does my f1.8 Voigtlander (QBM mount). The Latter has a very cool colour rendition which would really suit the reproduction of paintings. These are way cheaper than the Zeiss T, and mine is optically as good.

timde, a2l, sprocket: Thanks for your input! I'm researching every lens you suggested. They all seem like awesome lenses. For my first legachy lens, the Pentax 50mm and the Nikon 105mm hit the spot price wise, to see if I'm comfortable and so on.

One question regarding the Nikon 105mm f/2.5, I can't figure out the difference between AI, AI-S and non-AI. A little confused here. Does it even matter which one I get?