Which camera, A7s2 or A7r2?

Hi

I am looking to buy a new camera and am torn between the A7r2 or the A7s2. I am a videographer by trade and work for a company that has a lot of kit already and I am also a very keen photographer. My old 5Dmrk2 and 24-105 lens has broke and i have some money form the insurance company to replace it. I am extremely keen to get one of the sony series as i a have been amazed by what they are achieving. I also love the size of them and as i work on a sony fs7 a lot i want to stream flow my cameras. 

My problem is do i buy a A7s2 which i now will be better for filming but not as good for photographs, or an A7r2 which is amazing for photos but not as good for video. I would prefer to buy the A7r2 as i want a good camera for my personal stills. Has any one used the A7r2 for much video and could any one recommend one over the other for what i want? i would say that i will use the camera 50/50 for stills and video.  

Many thanks

Guest Peter Kelly

Definitely a tough call for someone who is mainly into video; the other way it is much more straightforward!

The bottom line is to decide if there is likely to be a situation with either camera where it won't do what you absolutely need, but the other one would.

Clearly, the areas to consider are low light, AF, and resolution.

As far as low light is concerned, the A7Sii is the winner, although not by a huge margin (epecially in resized stills), but when you are at the edge it might be enough of a factor.

The AF is definitely better in the A7Rii in all but very low light. However, I never really found the A7S troublesome or that slow for stills (sorry, don't do much video).

For stills the A7Rii is miles better and gives the option of big crops in good light, but I did like the look of the A7S. Video is more complex, as the A7Sii offers full sensor readout, but the A7Rii Super35 mode nearly matches the quality except in very low light.