Need the new Laowa 12mm F2.8 Sept 14-25th

firedog

Does anyone have one available, or know where I could get the new Laowa 12mm F2.8 lens for Sony FE? (Using Sony A7RII)

I need one for the duration of Sept 14-25th.

I am a professional photojournalist working as a volunteer photographer at an international conference.

It is an outdoor setting with about 5000 people attending.

Would really like to utilize the wide angle this lens offers...

I could borrow, rent or buy, if renting I have full renter's insurance, will sign whatever documents you require.

I do have a metabones adapter if you happen to have the Canon version, I believe it will work with that.

I live in near Los Angeles, Ca.

thanks,

William

This does not add up. 

You live near LA. There

are more-than-adequate

professional resources

in LA.

Maybe not one of them

offers that EXACT lens.  

But you did say you are

a professional, so you'll

get similar utility out of

whatever is available to

approximate that lens.

Just had a look at a number of review & test

images from your hoped-for 12mm. I do see

some idea of why you hope to use one ;-) 

I can also see why possibly no private owner

would want to rent it out ... the bulbous front

glass that cannot be protected by a filter :-(  

Estimated roll out on this product seems to

suggest that reluctance by owners to rent it

out may be a moot point ... if there's almost

no owners at all, reluctant or otherwise.  

Any buyers who might possibly have already

received one probably have had it for only a

verrrry brief time. 

Anyhoot, RotzaRuk !

Thanks for reply -  I see you recognize the potential of this lens.

Hoping I might find a pre-production model as Venus Optics has not started shipping lenses yet, as far as I know.

My request is a bit of a long shot, but if you don't ask ...you won't get an answer.

Sometimes things work out...