Wedding Lens

FocalRealism

Hi, 

I am little confused with which lens to get.

I am taking my camera to a friends wedding and would like to take some great photos throughout the day and evening.

I am either thinking of hiring or buying a lens to use, so all options are available really.

Which lens would work the best to get some good bokeh and clear images.

I am just starting out, so the FE lens and APS-C lenses are a little confusing.

If i was to buy a lens, i'd like it to be adaptable.

Thanks for your help

Guest Peter Kelly

Without wishing to put a dampener on things, perhaps I may offer some thoughts.

The first thing, though, is for me to ask exactly what is your motive for taking your camera and what sorts of pictures do you hope to get?

If you are wanting to become a professional at some point in the future then it can be useful, but there are a lot of things that you need to bear in mind. However, if you just feel that it's a nice opportunity, with everyone looking their best, to enjoy your hobby then I would suggest it's not such a good idea.

Also, are you looking for gorgeous artistic shots of the bride, or just general pictures of the day?

Those two possibilities are worlds apart and, irrespective of your equipment, I doubt you will be able to get the 'art' shots. Not because of your ability, but there is unlikely to be the opportunity.

The truth about weddings is that while we've all been to them and there are billions of wedding photographs, it is an extremely challenging, stressful, and difficult job for a professional.

The last thing he needs is someone continually being in the way. With the best will in the world it will happen, especially if you happen to be a half decent photographer because you will appreciate the best angles and look to be there, just as the pro does too!