OSX + A7R ii woes

bwud

I'm new to the A7-line, and Sony cameras in general. I'm trying to attach my A7R ii to my macbook, running yosemite (10.10.4), via USB. It never recognizes it. Are there any drivers I need? There are no downloads on the camera page of Sony's website.

Also, the SD card reader doesn't mount SD cards formatted in-camera. Is that a common thing?

Thanks!

It doesn't even mount the camera. The camera LCD just sits there for a while displaying USB and then says "check attached device" (or something).

I download the transfer over WIFI application from Sony, but it evidently didn't come with drivers because the computer still doesn't recognize the camera.

Hmm

I'm new to the A7-line, and Sony cameras in general. I'm trying to attach my A7R ii to my macbook, running yosemite (10.10.4), via USB. It never recognizes it. Are there any drivers I need? There are no downloads on the camera page of Sony's website.

Also, the SD card reader doesn't mount SD cards formatted in-camera. Is that a common thing?

Thanks!

Did you make the menu selections explained in this post for earlier versions by Brian Smith?   I found that the A7R2 requires the same selections to tether.

http://briansmith.com/how-to-tether-sony-a7-a7r-a7s/

Did you make the menu selections explained in this post for earlier versions by Brian Smith?   I found that the A7R2 requires the same selections to tether.

http://briansmith.com/how-to-tether-sony-a7-a7r-a7s/

Thanks. Unfortunately, no, it did not do the trick. I set USB more do PC Remote, and upon connecting the cable, the camera displays "Connecting" with a USB logo for a while, and then "Check the connected device." Meanwhile, the computer says "Cannot find a camera..."

I don't tend to shoot tethered. If I can't connect my camera to my laptop it's annoying but not a big deal. If I can't get the laptop to read the memory cards, that's a bigger deal. Perhaps a trip to the 7th circle of hell known as the apple store is in order...