First Experiences with the Nex5 - Major Short Issues (Need Advice)

Let me start out by saying I am new to photography.  My Nex5 was purchased second hand after tons of research.  I went out and bought a second lense have just some casual use seeing I really needed a telephoto for the close shots.

Yesterday we went to the zoo for the first time with my new camera.  I realize that the zoo is a very challenging expedition for the camera.  Lots of indoor lower light situations and full light situations...close shots ...wide shots...etc. 

I started out with my kit lense 18-55 but quickly switched to the 55-210.  The auto focus was VERY slow and in many cases did not work at all as the camera could not seem to find the center of the image with the animal I was shooting...so lots of shots were blurry.  I now understand why people ask for a touch screen so they can touch where they want the center to be.  Maybe this is just because I am using the Nex5 original and the steps up are much better?

I experienced this on many many shots very slow auto focus, inability for camera to find center of target.  I also now understand in the daylight why people really like view finders. 

I also see why the articulation of the ldc is a big deal as well.

Again, I am very new at this but I also noticed that switching out lenses is a PAIN.  There were several shots that I wanted to take of my daughter but because I had the 55-210 in I couldn't get shot.  I was too close to her to get a good picture.

Anyway...  Advice?  I started looking at the Nikon D3300 ... I noticed that originally I thought I would be doing more video but don't really do that much.  After carrying two lenses and the body ...how much more would a newer model of a DSLR weight...  Is it worth the trade off?

You essentially have TWO kit lenses, and

these do not transmit much light to your

focus sensor. You also have a quite less

than premium model body, which includes

rather low performing AF ability.