Run&Gun Setup (Frustrations with WB, Exposure and Focusing)

rda

Hello. I'm a newbie working with the A7RV and have been frustrated with my results so far because I'm not clear on a good setup for run and gun situations when the lighting changes or there are fast moving people or dogs for instance.

In terms of exposure, there are too many variables for me to do manually on the fly, so I guess I'm looking for a set it and (more or less) forget it option. So far, I haven't been using shutter priority because I sometimes want the aperture to stay wide open and not be variable. But if the exposure isn't automatic, I'm left with having to change the aperture manually, or the nd filter, or the exposure compensation dial (unless I'm using variable ISO and then it doesn't seem to have an effect). In short, I never know which options to go for and wind up losing lots of shots. Not to mention white balance for changing lighting situations. Is AWB fine if I can't actually get a white balance reading or if the subject then moves to another room or outside?

What's the best way for me to be able to quickly turn the camera on and film in a snap? If aperture priority is the answer, then is there a way to control it such that the ISO changes before the aperture does? If variable ISO is the answer, then can I get the exposure compensation to work if the camera is giving me zebras and I want to turn it down a notch? Or any other way?