Suddenly washed out photos!

I'm a newbie and non-techie with a Sony A5000 which has been working well.
But suddenly at an open air festival - lots of grass and sun - all the photos are coming out washed out and whitish.
I have to work very hard afterwards reducing the brightness to get any reasonable shots from the images.
I am using normal automatic settings but even the viewfinder image looks washed out and the movies come out exactly the same.
I'm unsure whether this is some fault or some setting I have inadvertently changed.
I will try to send a typical photo or two in case somebody can help explain what's going on

Really hope somebody can help because the camera is quite new
Sorry can't upload a file because it says each picture is too big and I don't know how to reduce them

Hi Space Man Spiff
Thanks for responding
I checked the readings on the skeleton photo and they were these:

ISO speed - ISO-125

Exposure bias +1.7 step

Max aperture 3.6171875

f stop  f1.1

Exposure time 1/60 sec

Contrast - Normal

Brightness - 9.4390625

Exposure program - Aperture Priority

Saturation - Normal

Sharpness - Normal

White Balance - auto

Digital zoom - 1

EXIF version - 0230
Hope this throws some light on the subject (excuse pun!)

I have posted two versions of this query - I think you might have seen the first one where I couldn't include sample photos.
They are on Suddenly Washed Out Photos - 2
Thanks

Skysurfer

try a couple of things.

#1 Try popping up the flash and taking a few pictures. then put it back down and take a few more compare exposure differences ,, are the images being washed out in both modes? (possibly unrelated but Some have reported that using the built-in flash in daylight situations resulting over exposure )