Sunsets in Switzerland

seb

Due to the mountains, we don't get red sunsets on the horizon. Except there are clouds that reflects the light of the sun, that is already behind the earth.

Two weeks ago and yesterday we had an evening like that and I made some shots. I'm not experienced in postprocessing landscape in PS but wanted to try it out with these shots.

What do you think? Too much? Too dark? What can I do better?

Clouds over Üetliberg

20795277634_f631e4f8a6_h.jpgSonnenuntergang überm Üetliberg by seflick, auf Flickr

Sunset over Zürich

21230969020_00a2624bea_h.jpgSonnenuntergang by seflick, auf Flickr

Train into the Night

21228842469_b51b2ec239_h.jpgMittelland by seflick, auf Flickr

Thanks miran. I see it the same, may you explain me why the foreground is "bad"?

It's one of my first attempts to landscape and I'm really glad to hear some criticism.

I tried to stay realistic with the darkness of the foreground to the brightness of the sky. But maybe I have to break that, but I don't know a good way.

there's a lot you should take into consideration apart from the foreground. e.g.:

use a tripod and close the aperture to 11F in Pct Nr1: sunstar.

use lower iso or different camera in pict Nr2: too much grain on that one: lack of sharpness

crop blue sky on pict Nr 3: would make sunset more interesting

overall: too little contrast,not enough sharpness  improve lightroom skills, buy tripod

Photo #1:  Clouds are beautiful!  Your composition could be better by lowering the camera so that maybe 1/3 is mountains and 2/3 clouds.  Then do two graduated filters in Lightroom/Photoshop.  On the top make it a little darker.  On the bottom do it lighter.  Use virtual copies and experiment with different graduated filters to see what works best.