New to Sony - Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

jpalik

I have been a professional photographer for more than 50 years. I was a dedicated Canon user for the last 20+ years and finally decided to make the switch to Sony with the introduction of the a7 mark iii. I have a number of questions about the camera's configuration and core functions I hope to get answered in this forum. The first is I notice that the banner says "Your content will need to be approved by a moderator". How long does this delay in getting a question answered continue or is it indefinite.

To me forums are my primary source for solving problems. The Lightroom and Photoshop forums are so well monitored I can usually solve a problem within minutes. Constant moderator review could be a bottleneck.

I look forward to your answer.

Jim

Jim,

to my understanding, this is a community of volunteers. There is no such thing as a guaranteed response time that I'm aware of.

That said, this approval process seems to be for first-posters only, to avoid spamming issues. Once you are approved by the moderator, which may take a day or two, at least in my case it did, you are free to post with immediate effect. How long it then takes to get an answer, depends if somebody has both expertise, time and interest to help out. You should not expect the service level and professionality of a paid service. Just give it a try.

I could imagine that over time, if you not only ask questions but also contribute actively, then response times might improve ...  :)

Thanks Chrissie,