Sign in to follow this  
Richard Crowe

A6500, MC-11 and Canon Lenses

I am new to Sony cameras and have an A6500 plus an MC-11 adapter.

Generally what is the best focus set up for this combination.

Jason Lanier seems to be able to get face detect with the A6500, MC-11 and a Canon 85mm lens (I don't know if it is the f/1.2L or the f/1.8).

I have a Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens and would like to use it with the MC-11 on my A6500 especially for portraits.

From a little bit of research and personal experience, 

Focus Area: Flexible Spot (Large or Medium)

Type of AF: Phase AF Points

Focus Mode: Single Shot

If Jason Lanier is getting decent focus with AF-C, it is most likely because he has well lit subjects. He also uses an A7III which shouldn't make that big of a difference, but it still can be the difference. He uses the 85mm F1.2 lens in most of the MC-11 reviews, so I assume he used it in the one you watched.

Hope this helps!

https://elgopro.myportfolio.com/

https://www.instagram.com/elgopro/

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content

• By jsharpe1983
      Normally I shoot video in manual mode with ISO set to Auto.  So, while recording, the ISO continually adjusts depending on lighting.  Is there a setting somewhere that prevents ISO from changing while actively recording something - and only adjusting again in-between shots?