Raw vs JPEG

Raw vs jpeg is a highly controversial topic. However there are different formats of jpeg with different compression ratios. One test I performed with a Sony camera resulted in:

Standard jpeg 3.5 mb
Fine jpeg 6.6 mb
Extra fine jpeg 13.7 mb
Raw 25 mb

The above will vary depending upon the data contained within a photograph. One could roughly conclude based on file size that the extra fine jpeg is compressed approximately 2:1. The fine jpeg is compressed approximately 4:1. The standard jpeg is compressed approximately 7:1.

Personally, I shoot raw + jpeg.

John

Edited by DrJohn

RAW allows you more control of the image in post processing but for many (like me) shooting in extra fine JPEG is all I need.  I am not a professional or commercial photographer and just shoot for my own pleasure, occasionally making a 13 x 19 print and then trying to convince my wife to find some wall space to display my effort!

1 hour ago, DrJohn said:

Raw vs jpeg is a highly controversial topic.

Is it really? I was never aware of that. After buying a camera with a four-digit price tag, I don't see how saving on a (big enough) memory card would be a wise decision. Being a cautious guy  I believe it's always a good idea to consume any spare "resources"* at the latest possible occasion. Versus: consuming any "slack" up-front and then being out of reserves if need arises.

* With "resources" I mean spatial (i.e. pixel) resolution, as well as color depth, as well as any losses you'll inevitably incur while changing to a lossy jpeg encoding. 

18 minutes ago, Chrissie said:

Is it really? I was never aware of that. After buying a camera with a four-digit price tag, I don't see how saving on a (big enough) memory card would be a wise decision. Being a cautious guy  I believe it's always a good idea to consume any spare "resources"* at the latest possible occasion. Versus: consuming any "slack" up-front and then being out of reserves if need arises.