RX100vi - Time to adopt after having been an A99 lover ?

For years now, I've always had the top of the line Minolta, Minolta-Konica and now Sony gear in my 35lb bag... But now that I am twice the age of the weight of my bag, it may be time to change (although I did purchanse a > than $2000 Sony/Zeiss A mount lens last month !). Oh, and I forgot to mention the tri-pod I carry as well on a shoulder sling... 

I shoot between 8,000 and 10,000 frames (RAW) a year and use Capture One software, mostly during trips around the world in remote places (Southern Ethiopia, North-Western Myanmar, Bhoutan...) and on car race tracks (Le Mans Classic, etc); I also publish books on Blurb. So, without being a pro, I am a serious amateur.

Of course, I won't give up the A mount in one go. BUT, it is probably time to learn to travel "lighter". The RX100vi kind of hit my imagination... Could this be the camera my back has been asking me to adopt ? 

WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS / RECOMMENDATIONS ?

Reading the specifications of this camera it seems more appealing to travelers than vloggers. I can certainly see the appeal of something so small that it can fit in a pants pocket and yet has a versatile zoom range. They say the best camera is the one that you have with you, because any camera is better than none.

I use the A9 and love it but I don't have it with me all the time, something like the RX100 may fit the bill though I will wait a while to see a wider variety of sample shots before I make up my mind… I've also been leaning towards the RX1R especially if they bring out a medium format version.

This may be a Christmas present to myself… now of course if Sony bring out some more FF lens then all bets are off…?