A9 jpeg/raw quality

So I’ve been shooting RAW since picking up my A9 and love it... about 2 weeks ago I started shooting both raw and jpeg. Obviously the highest jpeg setting is Fine when shooting in this mode... I shoot mainly wildlife and as I pulled up the side by side comparisons, to my surprise the jpeg files are more clear and detailed than the RAW... I was completely shocked... I can zoom all the way in on a duck in flight and the image starts pixelating in the RAW way before the jpeg. This is in Windows Photo Viewer so I thought maybe it’s just this program so I opened both files in my PhotoDirector 9 program and still the RAW images are not as clear as the jpeg... is this normal? Anybody else experience this with their A9!?

Thanks in Advance!

Taylor

JPEG will usually look better than RAW until the RAW has been processed, this is true of any camera. I recommend CaptureOne for working with Sony RAW files.

Thanks for the response. I kept researching this last night and that was the general rule... this morning I pulled those images into PhotoDirector9, but no matter what I did with them I just could not get rid of the pixelation. I’m assuming this program is not up to speed with the A9 raw file. I will download capture one tonight and see if I can get better results. Thank you

So I tried downloading Capture 1 on my desktop with windows 8... didn’t work

I then downloaded it on my laptop with Windows 8.1 and was able to edit the same Raw image in both editing programs...

Results:

I am able to edit the RAW image in Capture 1 and clearly make it a better end result Picture than the Jpegs... When using PhotoDirector I just can not do this, so maybe they are just behind on their RAW file editing stuff