Vertical banding with A7RIII during strobe use

Hey guys, 

I'm not a studio expert, and am struggling to figure out what is causing vertical stripes/banding on my paper backdrops when using strobes. Color or white, doesn't matter. I'm using the flashpoint/godox ad600 strobe with HSS turned on and shooting (in my attached example) at 1/1250th and ISO 100. This has happened to me numerous times now, and I haven't been able to detect a pattern yet. I haven't tried turning off Electronic Front Curtain yet, but will next time. It's only noticeable on paper backdrops (or maybe any plain surface), but not on my subjects. 

Any ideas? 

Thanks!

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Guest Jaf-Photo

Two thoughts:

1) Flicker from the HSS strobe. Try normal sync speed.

2) Compression artefacts from your raw converter or in-camera jpeg engine. Try uncompressed raw in CaptureOne.

Two thoughts:

1) Flicker from the HSS strobe. Try normal sync speed.

2) Compression artefacts from your raw converter or in-camera jpeg engine. Try uncompressed raw in CaptureOne.

Thanks Jaf, appreciate it! I'll try normal sync first. Hopefully it's not artefacts...would definitely mess my workflow up a bit (using LR on compressed RAWs) 

Guest Jaf-Photo

Ok, hope it works out. You could try opening the same compressed file in C1 just to compare. If It's artefacts, they should be less visible thanks to the better raw conversion.

Thanks Jaf, appreciate it! I'll try normal sync first. Hopefully it's not artefacts...would definitely mess my workflow up a bit (using LR on compressed RAWs) 

I don't think that's the best workflow to go with anyway. You have to just bite the bullet and go uncompressed. I haven't used LR in years but why not try Capture One, I think there's a free version for Sony.

Guest Jaf-Photo