Need opinion on my trip photos? New to a6300.

Hello, I hope this is the correct forum for this.

I recently migrated from a Canon 70D with a variety of basic lenses and I got decent at using that, however I wanted to enter the 4k Video Market and portability market for vacactions/trips. I love to travel.

So I got the a6300 a week ago with the kit lens 16-50mm and wanted to see if anyone would be willing to look at my photo gallery and tell me what you think. I'm still learning all the proper exposure/settings/iso/apeture etc, by no means am I advanced.

I keep reading the a6300 is super sharp and far superior than the 70d but out of the 4 days of photos I've shot I'm not happy with any of them and debating whether to take the a6300 back for a refund. This is my last ditch effort to get some advice on why my photos all look pixelated when zoomed in, super grainy, etc. Or if it's just the kit lens, I shoot in manual mode mostly because I really want to understand it better. Thank you.

not sure on rule on posting links so if you want to browse my site index of the photos please let me know I will post it, thank you so much.

Guest Jaf-Photo

The Canon 70D has very good noise handling. So, I think you're used to clean images straight from camera. Sony images sometimes have more noise out of the camera. However, if you use noise reduction software, you will get results that are clean and detailed. I suspect that the 70D in fact applies more noise reduction, even to raw images.

Also, the kitlens 16-50 is really poor, which will affect image quality. In fact, artefacts could be a result of the in-camera optical corrections. Try disabling all image "enhancing" functions in the camera menu. They usually make things worse.

If you want better optics without paying too much, you can look at the Sigma 19/30/60 f2.8.

Haha, welcome to the world of the Sony lie/marketing machine!