DaVinci Resolve S-Log2 LUT Blowing Out Excessivly

I have posted a few times before but in error posted to the camera forum so I'm starting as a newbie here. But not new to Sony video as i shot a lot with the EX1 a few years ago, Just moved to A7ii.

Experimenting with S-Log2 as this is all I intend to shoot but I have two problems.

FIRST I am going on week long remote desert shoot where I will not have computor to apply a LUT so I'm apprehensive about coming back with a bunch of bad footage. Until I feel more confident in this camera what non s-Log profile is recommended?

SECONDLY (and more importantly to me) when I have applied the S-Log2 LUT to my footage in Resolve I get total blow-out. Like an almost white screen with the bottom at 50 IRE and the top about 6 inches above my monitor. What's happening here/ Surely this is not right as training videos of applying LUTS give a fair image off the bat.

Hi Mike.  I found the same thing when I did a couple of tests using the supplied slog 2 inversion LUT in Resolve..... so just to get the footage passed on to the person that needed it I did a custom curve that looked pretty good on a calibrated monitor, and retained all the data in the waveform so it was all useable.

I might look into it a bit more if I get time.

You can also go into the "ACES" working space... but that might be a bit much for you to delve into.  I rely on our colorists for guidance when it comes to screwing around with ACES settings in Resolve.    :blink:

Yep. Applying a standard grade of my own to each clip gives better results and is easier than using the Sony SLog2 LUT, YET I've been criticized for doing this and told few have the skill to do it and they say I can't be consistent, so something is wrong somewhere. The camera SLog2 and the Resolve anti-SLog2 can't be matched.