this operation or setting not available as follows eye tracking

Ryan5

Hi There,

I'm a noob here and have only owned the A7R for 2 days so please be gentle if I've already done something wrong. I did search for this but couldn't find any reference. I have been following the Gary Fong tutorials and when I get to the Eye focus tracking, I custom set the AEL button but when I hit that button whilst focused on a subject I get the following error message. This operation or setting not available as follows eye tracking. I'm using the Sony 70-200 OSS lens and I'm completely stumped as to what I'm doing wrong.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ryan

Perhaps I am missing something, but I use Eye Focus Tracking (in AF-C mode and Wide focus area) usually with Face Detect off. It's a separate function as far as I know but I could be mistaken. Eye AF reverts to Face Detect if it can't find an eye.

You have to put Eye AF on one of the Custom Buttons (I use the AEL Button) and press and hold this button for it to work. Then you press the shutter button to take the exposure.

I also found this which might help you.

"Turn off face detection and set the camera to AF-C and Wide Area focus (not lock-on). Press and hold down the button assigned to Eye AF. Don't release the button.

With an eye somewhere in the central region of the EVF, you will see a tiny green square that locates itself over the eye. This is a PDAF point that has locked onto the eye.

When you swing the camera, the green square will keep on the eye. I used a photo magazine with a face on the front page as the target, It works every time."

Note I think eye detect requires using Phase Detect which requires FE lens , not a adapted lens, and Phase detect only works at f stops f8 or wider ,

Hope that helps.