Flash recommendations

I'm new to A7xx - I have an outdoor event shoot I'm planning ahead for and probably need to pick up a single on camera flash unit for soft fill in bright sun or as the main light in shaded areas.  (Shooting with a 24-70 2.8 - so not far away)  It probably needs to be wide enough to cover up to 20 people without going dark on the edges/sides.

There won't be much if any indoor shooting at all.  I just need something that can cover couples and small groups with soft light - without getting too hot.   I assume the camera TTL control dials it down on compatible flash units...

Seems like I should maybe just get the HVL-F43M and call it a day - but any other comments are welcome!  There's always a chance I'd want it to trigger 1-2 off camera flashes for other project or bigger groups in the future...

The only other concern would be battery life - I'd like to avoid something that requires 4-6 AA batteries every 30 minutes.  I probably only need a hundred pops, max, but over 3 hours.

One small wrinkle - I already own a new HVL-F56AM (currently try to sell off) - according to this (attached) - I could theoretically use the HVL-F20M and it would trigger the 56 wirelessly (at the right power levels)?  Of course it would have to be off camera...  Interestingly the 43M or 60M are not compatible for wirelessly triggering the 56.    Or get a 20M (as the trigger) and a 43M.

Just not sure what to go with...  I just need the camera to bump the level of the fill gently - so it doesn't look like a spotlight.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

The 43 will control the 56 in WL mode using the. Ctrl/Ctrl2 mode which is the old style WL protocol.