To UV Filter or Not to UV filter ?

As you all know, I am new to this Digital malarkey.

My last camera was a now  broken  Minolta XE 1.

In those days, lenses had soft outer coatings, that would supposedly be ruined, by repeated wipes of cleaning cloths.

Now I have the A7 II, with the  Sony 18 - 200  and the Sony Zeiss 35 f 1.4.

Some people are saying that the modern front lenses, have hard coatings, so you can wipe them as much as you like,  without destroying the coating, and  that  the  UV filter  of yesteryear, is now ,no longer necessary.

In fact the UV filter can detract from the sharpness of the lens  ?

Any info on this would be greatly appreciated , thanks.

Wally The Confused

Even if modern coatings no longer accumulate

cleaning marks [which was not a problem with

majority of older lenses anyway ... ], wearing

a filter protects against various mishaps etc.

As for a reduction in sharpness, once you've

lugged a seriously heavy tripod and set your

camera on it, focused critically, and set your

lens to it's most critical aperture and your

capture to raw, you really owe it to all your

efforts at perfect sharpness to go right ahead

and remove the filter, just in case it's worth

it for a possible improvement.

BUT ! Before you remove the filter, you also

owe it to yourself to record the shot WITH

the filter in place, for later comparison. Also

recheck your focus after removing the filter.

Also bracket your focus for both versions and

be sure to focus using live view. Do not trust

the alignment of mirrors and focusing screens

in SLRs.

If you wanna get reeeeeeally picky ... and if

you worry about negative influences of filters

then you are, by definition, picky ... assume

that your lens shifts focus when stopped down.

Thus you need to focus at working aperture.

So, whenever you are NOT following all the

critical sharpness procedures outlined above,

keep the filter on your lens and don't worry

about it.

Ah UV filters.