Question on Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM II Lens

John Wang

HI, Gurus,

Newbie here wants to get into photography😀 and need to get some advise from experts.

I saved some money over time and want to take great pictures for my travel, kids, instead of start with cheap camera, lens. I want to buy the professional equipment from the beginning because I know I will use those for a long time to come, that way I don't need to throw or resell the cheap ones a few month later.

I am going to buy Sony A7 IV, looking at my lens options, I don't have any lens right now, I would like to start with one wide angle lens, one regular lens for normal photo. I looked at Sony - FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM Wide-Angle Zoom , it has a very good review, 16mm is good but it is still not as good as 12mm

So I am looking at the following:

Sony FE 12-24mm f/2.8 GM Lens

Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM Lens

If I buy the above two lens, they are back to back, covering everything from  12mm-70mm, would that be better than buying 16mm-35mm and another middle range lens( but still doesn't' cover 12-15mm ). Will the above two lens combine range  16mm-35mm) is just as good as single 16mm-35mm lens in turns picture quality(I assume so but just want to make sure)?

Is any better option than buy the two :Sony FE 12-24mm f/2.8 GM Lens, Sony FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM Lens to do what I wanted? I know there are cheaper lens but what I want is a best lens I can afford(those two are in my budget)

Do I still need any other lens to get myself started?

Please advise.

Thank you in advance.

John

Some questions back to you to hopefully help you determine where your priorities are:

1. The title of this topic is 'Question on Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM II Lens', but nowhere in your post do you ask a question about this lens. What exactly is your question? You only speak of the GM (mk I?). If your budget allows, get the mk II: better in every regard except price.