a7iii makes shots with a dark spot at sunny day and apeture > F11

Hi,

I am a total newbie in the photography world.

I bought a Sony Alpha 7 iii this spring.

This is my first camera which is better than the builtin smartphone one.

I need help to understand where the problem lies. Is it about my hands or hardware ;)

After some time I noticed a strange thing - sometimes in a bright environment and aperture greater than F11.

Greater aperture => more dark spot gets. I tried changing lenses (Sony 28-70mm / Sony OSS 70mm-200mm) / filters  - the issue persists, but it is not reproduced 100% times.

So genuine  nature is unclear for me. I suspect the matrix. The camera matrix looks okay with bare eyes (no scratches).

What could it be? How to reproduce it 100%? Reproducing must be vital for warranty justification, doesn't it?

I attached a few samples from White Sands Park and USS Alabama.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

100% either a spot of dust on your lens or on the sensor - probably your lens. This does happen and really can't be avoided and so get used to having to clean them. There are plenty of YouTube videos showing you how to clean both - a particularly good one for sensor cleaning is here: https://youtu.be/b-7ciRxh6s8

Edited by alasdairmac

Yep, looks like a dust spot. I reckon it's on the sensor, because it's in the same place on each image.  

Sony alphas of this vintage are prone to gather sensor dust when changing lenses (latest models close the shutter when changing lenses, to keep the dust out).

Don't be scared to clean the sensor - as long as you follow the advice (Alasdairmac's link).

If you still find dust spots on your images it is possible to erase them when editing. I use Luminar Neo which clears most dust spots at the push of a button and replaces with the appropriate background