Issue with Sony G Lens 100-400mm - strange flare like halo around bright lights

HDMA

Hello all, 

I have been using a Sony A7s with the 70-200mm G lens for a couple of years now for night videography. Very recently, I have upgraded to a 100-400mm G lens but upon testing it out in the field, I have discovered some strange flare like effects around bright lights in the centre of the frame that aren't there with the 70-200mm lens. Below I have attached some sample clips that the issue is prevalent in, along with a comparison of the same type of shot with the 70-200mm lens at the end for reference. 

Has anybody experienced this with their low light work and/or know a solution to fix this issue?

Thank you in advance, 

Matt

Hi

First the obvious question. Is your lens scrupulously clean?

Secondly, (now I am making educated guess) the G 70-200 has a constant minimum aperture of f/4 (GM is F2.8) whereas the GM 100-400 starts at f/4.5 and moves up to 5.6 at 400mm. So, I would expect low light performance of the shorter lens is better than that of the longer one - particularly as, I believe, longer lenses tend to struggle more with low light and wide contrast, than a wider lens of similar quality.

Edited by thebeardedgroundsman

26 minutes ago, thebeardedgroundsman said:

Hi

First the obvious question. Is your lens scrupulously clean?

Secondly, (now I am making educated guess) the G 70-200 has a constant minimum aperture of f/4 (GM is F2.8) whereas the GM 100-400 starts at f/4.5 and moves up to 5.6 at 400mm. So, I would expect low light performance of the shorter lens is better than that of the longer one - particularly as, I believe, longer lenses tend to struggle more with low light and wide contrast, than a wider lens of similar quality.

Hello,

Thank you for your reply!