(MODERATORS: I noticed the legacy lens part of the forum too late, if you think this should go there, by all means, move it. It probably does fit there best.)

I worked as a professional sports photographer for years, blindly shooting away with a Canon and not truly appreciating photography.

I got a promotion and was no longer required to shoot, so I sold my gear. 

After a few years I got the itch again, but there were stipulations: No. 1 — No backaches. I wanted to go light. No. 2 — I wanted to shoot on a budget (I've added kids and other expenses). No. 3 — I wanted to have fun.

I did some research and talked to a photo buddy, PMR (some Sony shooters probably know him), and I settled on an a6000.

Picked one up with a kit lens and ordered an adapter for some old FD stuff I had sitting around from back in the day. And there's where my trouble started.

After messing around with the old standard Canon FD 50mm 1.8, I went immediately to Amazon and bought adapters for every mainstream mount — the best-rated, yet cheap, adapters. 

Fast forward two months, and I've spent about $250 at various thrift stores, garage sales and pawn shops picking up a vast array of manual focus lenses and other finds, and I'm having the time of my life.

So far, here's what I've got:

Nikon F mount lenses

Nikkor-S.C. Auto 55mm 1.2 (with an old Nikkormat EL body thrown in)

Nikkor 135mm 2.8 (with a Nikon FG body added to the deal)

Carl Zeiss Jena 28mm 2.8 

Sigma AF 24-70mm 2.8 DG (auto-focus doesn't work, but it's otherwise mint)

Sigma AF 15mm 2.8 fisheye (again, no-go on autofocus, but manual focusing is smooth)

Auto Vivitar 200mm 3.5 (stuck wide-open, unfortunately)

RMC Tokina 400mm 5.6

Minolta MD mount lenses

Minolta MD Rokkor-X 45mm 2.0

Minolta MD Rokkor-X 50mm 1.4 (threw in a Minolta XD-11 body)

Minolta 1:1 extension tube (I believe this was made for the 50mm 3.5 macro)

Canon FD mount lenses

Canon FD 50mm 1.8 (two copies, both flawless)

Canon FD 28mm 2.8 S.C.