Replacing the Sony 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3

Ben Schultz

I am using a Sony 55-210mm f/4.5-6.3 OSS E Mount Autofocus on a Sony A6000 and getting pretty good results. But (for reasons explained here) I need a lens that either has a MF/AF switch or only has manual focus. 

Any recommendations on a comparable lens that has a true manual focus? 

KEH suggested a TAMRON 18-200MM F/3.5-6.3 DI III VC but I was hoping to find something a little cheaper. 

Thanks!

At which focal length do you use your 55-210? Do you keep it fixed at one focal length or do you actually use the zoom function? In your specific case you might be best off buying a fully manual focus lens to be sure it doesn't reset focus. Samyang/Rokinon has some good and fairly affordable options but they don't go beyond 85mm or so.

A fully manual lens sounds like a great solution. I typically leave the camera mounted; I set the zoom and focus and then power it on/off remotely. 

I am still learning about camera lenses, so help me a little. I have the lens zoomed in around 90mm and I have the focus set at 16mm. Does that mean I'm using a focal length of 90 or is there more to the equation than that?

Thanks for the advice!

Have a look at the Samyang 85mm f/1.4 AS IF UMC in Sony E-mount (not the autofocus version). Can be had for about €/$ 250-300 if you find a good deal:

https://www.adorama.com/sy85me.html

I assume you have focus set at 16m (not mm): Focal length (90 mm) shouldn't change much if you change focus distance.