WoodyOne

Noob questions about IR pics

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone!

I am new to infrared photography...

And somewhere I read that a camera can take IR pics (with the right filter) if it is able to catch the beam of a remote.

I have performed the "challenge" and I've got pics with the pink-red beam ...

My noob questions :

-can I really get infrared pictures with my 6500? 

-which filter is good for the job?

Thanks in advance to everyone! 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Pieter,   You answer your own question why: " absolute best image quality despite bigger file size and more noise on pixel level."   Given my experience with 35mm, med and large format I know what increased resolution looks like even with much smaller prints of 8x10 and 11x14. In this case its certainly not marketing crap. Its a real world improvement. If you are using the kit zoom then perhaps there is not much more to resolve but again I'm using quality prime lenses and I know
    • Hello you all! I'm trying to make an automatic turntable for object 3D scanning (photogrammetry). I use this connector to interact with camera multiport: Sony pinout on Multiport For now it's working well, I use some custom electronics to trigger the shutter connecting trigger pin to GND. But it only work with the self-timer activated. It makes my scan process really slow then (even with the 2sec selftimer) Do you know a way to use directly the trigger pin (I mean,