A7Riii, 200-600, BIF Issues

BobLester

Hi, 

I’m new to this forum and looking for help.

I’m not able to get fast moving birds in focus with this combination. I’ve tried lots of different combinations of tracking, OSS modes, focus areas, etc.. It’s not very light here so I’m having to shoot at very high ISOs but it’s practice. I’m still new at trying to pan and keep the bird in the frame. But out of hundreds of burst shots I would think that at least a few would show promise. But I can tell that these aren’t sharp without even cropping. I realize this is high ISO (it’s dark here in the PNW) but this image should be sharper. 1/3200, 6.3, ISO 12800. This is one of my better examples. Birds not this close and flying faster are really bad. I’ve tried all the setting combinations I could find that were recommended. Pretty sure this one is zone af, AF-C, and mode 2 on the lens. I was prefocused on it when it took off. 

I can’t find a lot of info on this camera lens combination. What I can find in one post is contradicted in another. 

Anyone shooting this combination have any suggestions? Or is this just not a good camera for any kind of fast bird?

Thanks in advance. 

You could likely drop the shutter speed in half, 1/1600 should still freeze the action and cut your ISO in half. Are you shooting RAW or JPG ? I would recommend shooting both and then comparing the two, Sony does a good job in cleaning up jpg’s and this will give you some idea of how sharp the images can be.
Use the RAW image to make your edits and do some noise reduction and sharpness tweaking.

On 12/24/2019 at 10:23 PM, BobLester said:

What I can find in one post is contradicted in another. 

Bob,

BIF photography is considered the benchmark for both equipment and photographer for a variety of reasons. Let me explain: