Newbie lens choice?

deebs07

Hi, I'm starting out and looking to get an a6400 (or possibly a6500 as I've seen quite a few lightly used examples for for a decent price) and not quite sure which path to go with lens choice. I've largely narrowed it down to the following:

• Sigma 16mm F1.4
  • Sigma 30mm F1.4
  • Sigma 56mm F1.4
  • Sony 18-105 F4
  • Sony 18-135 F3.5-5.6

I have little experience past borrowing my friends spare DSLR and I'm wanting to keep my initial costs down to see if this is really for me. The obvious choice seems to be one of the two zoom lenses but I find myself really swayed by the low light performance and sharpness of the Sigma F1.4 range. Would having only the Sigma 16mm and 56mm be too restrictive when starting out compared to one of the zoom lens options? I guess another option would be to start with one of the zoom lenses and then add the Sigma 16mm F1.4 at a later date. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks :)

Edited by deebs07

If you don't have much experience in photography, an advantage of a zoom is that you can experiment a bit with what focal lengths you really like, then in the long run buy a prime at that focal length. It can be really personal which focal length you enjoy shooting at. It'll also be very personal how much you dislike changing lenses a lot.

I find myself deciding on which lens to use before the occasion, and only bring one backup lens just in case. I have the 18-108 zoom and 12, 24 and 56mm primes. I find myself using the 18-105 a lot for convenience during daytime outings (18-135 is a fine alternative) and bring the 56mm f1/4 when I hope to shoot some nice portraits. It's really an incredibly nice lens but the focal length can be a bit restrictive.

When I expect to be indoors (tight space) under limiting lighting conditions, I put on the 24mm f/1.8. The Sigma 30mm f/1.4 is a great alternative but can be a bit tight indoors.