new guy with question

Hello all.  I am new to photography and today received a A6300 that I bought used from Amazon.  The camera seems to be in great shape and everything works but when my thumb gets close to the hot shoe, the rear display goes blank for a few seconds.  Is this normal?  The seller does have a liberal return policy so exchanging it should be relatively straight forward.    Thank you in advance and I look forward to learning more about photography and this camera.

Regards,

Clint

To the right of the viewfinder there is a small sensor which switches the viewfinder on, and the monitor off,  when you put your eye near it. Unfortunately, it also does this if anything else, eg a finger, gets close. And it is oversensitive!

Edited by Thad E Ginathom

I would assume it mostly happens when you move your left hand thumb to the hotshoe as it gets closer to the EVF.

There's a couple of solutions:

1) Disable automatic switching between screen and EVF. If needed, you can assign a custom button to switch between either one;

2) Tape off part of the proximity sensor to make it less sensitive, as explained here:

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3834906

Do you have the eyepiece (eyecup) on the camera? If not, it might help keep fingers away from the sensor... but my a6500 reacts to something just over an inch away.

I've heard of the tape trick, but I only have nasty, sticky electrical tape, and I'm not keen on getting that on the camera. And I don't understand how it doesn't react to the tape --- but hey, I'll go and revise that thread.

Would magic marker (sharpie in US) do the trick, I wonder? EDIT: It does get a mention on the that thread. I'd have to be very sure that it is easily removal with rubbing alcohol before trying.

EDIT 2. I just tried with a sharpie and it was not effective.

Edited by Thad E Ginathom

It came with 2, one smaller and one larger and the smaller was fitted.  I will try the larger one to see if that helps.  Thanks again!