Sony APS-C lens for women photography?

Hello, I am a new photographer. I am photographing women. I am not 100% sure about the style yet.
CUrrently, I have Sony a6500 + portrait Sigma 56mm 1.4 lens.  THis is a great combo.

However, I am sure I will need photos of people with full height. And it seems that I need a wider lens.  (if i am not mistaken).

Also, sometimes, I do street photography - when I am passing by some interesting people and I need to quickly shoot an action scene.
So again, portrait lens does not seem to catch enough angle.

Can you recommend me something good for my purpose and not too expensive?

My friend recommended me to get Samyang/Rokinon 12mm. However, i heard the distortion could be quite high for people shooting.
Any thoughts?

Thanks a lot!

• 1 month later...

When you say 'not too expensive' what is your price range?  The kit lens in the right hands is a beast in its own right.  Sigma is coming out with a lens Sony E 16-55mm f/2.8 G Lens - $1398 - This baby is a BEAST, good quality glass.  

A good thing using a prime is you WILL learn composition, it's very possible to get full portrait with this 56mm however you will have to distance yourself but a photographer will move wherever necessary to capture the shot.  I do think the 35mm prime would have been a better choice.  35mm prime is a good versatile lens.

Provide a sample image of a portrait you've shot with the 56mm

I have found that using good form, making sure lighting is in check and a good understanding of the capabilities of the camera you are able to get GREAT photos even using the kit lens, however I am frothing at the mouth over this bad boy.  This is what i'd call 'the masters lens'

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Hi Graphic Design,

I'm current using the SAL1650F28 / LAEA1 combo on my a6500 which the new lens is probably a rehash of.