A7Rii cannot import from SD Card. Need help!

I recently purchased an A7Rii and I'm new to Sony cameras. I took some shots and I am trying to import my photos and videos onto my Mac, but it will not recognize the files. I've looked up several things online, but I'm not sure if I need to reformat the SD card or if I need to do something else.

I don't mind reformatting the SD Card, but I assumed the camera did that automatically when I inserted it for the first time since it was a brand new SD card. I don't mind losing an hour or two worth of shooting by reformatting if I'm certain it will work. 

Can anyone confirm this for me or let me know how I can easily drag and drop them from my SD Card folder onto my Mac?

Thank you.

What OS do you have on your Mac ?

Are you shooting RAW or JPG ?

If the former then you may need to tell it what program to use to open the file (ctrl/click and then Open with). You should be able to use Photos for that or try the imaging software that came with the camera. If using JPG then the files should open , if they don't then format the card and try again. Anytime you insert a brand new card you should format in camera, never format the card with a pc/mac as it can screw up the file structure. 

I am shooting RAW uncompressed XAVC S 4K video and the equivalent stills. 

I am running the OS X operating system on my Mac.

With my other cameras, its as simple as opening the SD Card and dragging and dropping into Photos or anywhere on my computer. When I do that now I get an error message that pops up.

This is the file structure from my a9… I am using Mojave 10.14.1

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Check your permissions for the file, using Get Info. You should have Read/Write access.

Also check that the SD card is not locked...

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…