Using a Hoodman with A7 Mk ii

I am new to the Sony family and just got an A7 Mk ii.  I love to take sunrise and sunset photos.  I recently discovered the Hoodman   (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1085425-REG/hoodman_hlpp3m_hoodloupe_3_glare_free.html )  while attending a landscape workshop at Death Valley.  The Hoodman is big plus keeping out glare on the monitor and also provides some magnification of the screen.  Since the camera automatically turns off the monitor when covered, thinking you are using the viewfinder, this is not working well.  I understand that I go to Menu/Custom Settings/Monitor&Finder (4) and select Monitor only versus auto.  Is there a better way of doing this?

The purpose of a hoodman is to provide an improved

live-view experience on a DSLR. DSLRs provide no

live-view in the finder eyepiece, so the hoodman can

be helpful to the DSLR user favoring live-view.

OTOH the Sony A7 series DOES provide live-view in

the finder eyepiece, so the hoodman, which involves

certain ergonomic compromises, is less rewarding to

the A7 user than to the DSLR user ..... possibly less  

rewarding to such a degree that it's a bad idea.

`

The Hoodman on Mirrorless cameras works well in eliminating glare and distracting light. In that regard it resembles the dark cloth used by Adams, Sexton et al. Ive tried it on my A6000 and found it clumsy. I prefer an old dark cloth I used on my LF cameras. Additionally, the dark cloth can be fit about the body and since it's warerproof also protects the camera

I think everyone who has replied so far has missed a very important feature on the A7ii (and all A7 series) cameras.