Seond lense recommendation for island travel

chris6500

All,

I have recently purchased an a6500 with the Sony 18-105 mm OSS lense.  I will be using the camera 70% for travel, and the rest family photography.  For an upcoming trip to Fiji I am looking for a second lense to take on the trip.  I will primarily be using the camera for shooting landscapes of the rainforest, lagoons, resort where I am staying, pic of my wife and I, and some local villages which I will visit.  I made a short list of lenses that may work, but I really can use some guidance from some of the experts here.  I am an amateur photographer, and only have a couple years experience shooting with decent cameras.

1. Sony 10-18 mm OSS.  I think this lense but it is also very expensive

2. Sony 35 mm f/1.8 OSS.  Good optics and I could possibly "walk zoom."  It is compact and only 60% the cost of option 1.  But there are probably pros and cons I could use advice on.

3. Rokinon 12 mm.  Good optics and lower cost, but no autofocus so I'm afraid of missing shots.  Also no camera distortion correction profiles or lense stabilization, but the later may matter less with the 6500.

4. Sony 20 mm f/2.8 pancake lense

Please help!

Chris

Unless you frequently fail to bring your zoom-equipt

camera, as too burdensome for your activities, I see

no photographic benefit of the pancake 20. It may be 

"loveable", but if you don't tend to leave your camera 

behind very often, the pancake is just a solution to a  

problem that you don't happen to have. 

35/1.8 or another fast prime ? Do your travel images 

include a lotta night scenes or interiors ? If so, you'll 

prolly get pix you otherwise would NOT have gotten if 

all you had was a zoom ... allowing only OSS primes, 

cuz without OSS, the primes are less capable than an 

OSS f/4.0 zoom in low light. 

12mm ? It's a gee-whiz toy. You WILL get a reliable 

"gee-whiz" when you show your shots ... but so what.