Proper ND filter for daylight video?

Hi,

I have had trouble on exposure with Sony A7SII at cloudless daylight videos and I am looking for proper strength ND filter for the purpose. I take film at 25fps 1/50 with SLog3/S-Gamut3.Cine with ISO1800-3600 at f3.5-7.1(preferably) at +1EV and during daylight testing I found out that I had to stretch the aperture up to 20-22 in order to have somewhat decent exposure.

I got a Chinese Fotga variable ND filter for free from a friend but the vignetting is noticeable even at lower stops and at higher end it is useless.

It appears to me that I would need something in the range of ND10000 to coop with the excess light.

On the other hand, someone suggested switching to Cine.4 from SLog3 at daylight shots to bring down the iso, thus balance the light. Should this adversely affect the video quality?

I'm not a pro so pardon me if there if I've tripped in a few pits on my way at this matter.

Hi Pekka.  
Wondering why you are using ISO 1800-3600 in daytime?  If you drop from 1800 ISO to 100 ISO that's around 4 stops of light you've allowed for right there.  Could even go to 50 ISO, so 5 stops down already.  Shouldn't need a heavy ND unless you want to shoot wide open (f2.8 - f4) for depth of focus reasons.
And what is the end result you are shooting for?  Mentioning you are "not a pro" makes me think you should stay away from the s-Log settings for the time-being... ( I think min ISO for s-log is 800 ISO?) until you've got a better handle on the camera, and what s-Log is meant for.
Try using one of the rec.709 profiles, PP4 to start with.
Some good comments on this page about video settings on the A7R2... https://www.erwinvandijck.com/nieuws/optimized-video-settings-sony-a7r2

PS...  ALWAYS have your exposure graph visible when shooting video... then you'll know if you are in the ballpark making the most of your sensor or not.

good luck!

Hi,