Pictures taken with Sony 70-200/f4 (A7II) not so sharp

I used my new Sony 70-200/f4 on a weekend trip recently and took a lot of street photos using this lens. Looks OK on screen and also at home, until I zoom in. Then most pictures are a little bit un-sharp, like if it isn't really focused. I used f-values between 4-7.1 and shutter speed of at least 1/400, so I don't think movement is a problem. And the edges are not fuzzy, it is more like you can't see the smallest details, like pores in the skin etc. Is my lens in need of calibration of what can the problem be? I'm very new to this kind of tele-lenses, so I don't know. I use AF single with medium spot btw and aim for anywhere on the face.

Guest Jaf-Photo

This lens has good overall image quality but it is a little soft at pixel-level. Pretty much what you are describing. To determine if your photos are unusually soft, you can look up images taken with the same gear. Flickr is a good source. Alternatively, you can post examples here.

Here is an example with f7.1 and 1/400 shutter speed, settings I would expect would get a super sharp result...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1901uvd25ox19md/_DSC5183.ARW?dl=0

Here is another example where the focus seem to be more right on spot:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2m7qu7inkizjmm3/_DSC4825.ARW?dl=0

It could surely be my fault too, I'm still learning to use this lens. But I really want to get to the bottom with this, going on a safari in June and would be sad to come home with a bunch of fuzzy pictures... :(