In Turmoil! Upgrading Sony a350 to ???

Good evening from Bristol in the UK,

I currently have an a350 along with a Tamron 16-300mm lense which has been great for Marcross, landscape, and portrait shots.

I am an amature photographer, as I have been made redundant, I am looking to upgrade my camera and spend more time on Photography.

There is so.much choice out there my head is spinning! After plenty of reading, and talking to people my decision is (I think!) Between the Sony a7ii or Sony a7rii along with the 24-240 sony lense?....which (again, I think! Is the nearest equivalent replacement to my current Tamron)..

Thinking the A7ii as although there is technically more aspects to the R, there price difference is quite big and I can save quite a bit? Around £600...

Or another alternative is to stick with a mount to retain my current lenses and get a cheaper Sony such as A77ii........

Any experience, or view that may help me decide appreciated!

• 2 weeks later...

This is my first ever post on this forum.

I’ve been searching for a good photography forum for years but haven’t found one. Why? Because I’m lynched by as a “Sony fan boy” even though the subject at hand was about photography in general and not brand specific.

I’ve been on machine gun forums that were friendlier. (not kidding)

Many of my friends are die hard Nikon or Canon users. That’s fine. The each their own. People should use whatever equipment suits their needs best.

I’m actually surprised by the responses. I agree 100%! I too chose to upgrade to the A77ii and have been extremely happy with my decision over the A7 series.

Why? I guess it depends what type of photography you’re doing. There were several unique features on the A77ii. The single biggest one was FAST FOCUSING! There is no second place. It’s truly in a class all of its own.

• 2 weeks later...

Did you decide on a replacement camera for your A350?